at MIT


  • Chair, Committee On Discipline (2014-2018)

  • Housemaster, Maseeh Hall (2011-present)

  • Housemaster, Phoenix Group (2008- 2011)

  • Office of Minority Education, Advisory Committee (2010-present)

  • DUE Faculty Advisory Committee (2009-2018)

  • S^3, Faculty Advisory Committee (2010-2017)

  • Institute Committee on Privacy (2009-2018)

  • Co-Chair, Committee on Family and Work (with R. Simpson; 2006-2009)

  • Chair, Subcommittee on the Communication Requirement (2005-2008)

  • Co- chair, Subcommittee on the Communications Requirement (with Paul Penfield; 2001-2005)

  • Committee on Educational Technology (1999-2001)

  • Chair, Committee on Undergraduate Programs (CUP; 1997-2000)

  • Chair, Committee on Curricula (COC; 1993-1994)

  • Committee on Curricula (COC; Fall, 1992)

  • Chair, Committee on the Undergraduate Writing Requirement (1990-1992)

  • Committee on International Issues at MIT (1987-88)

  • Committee on the Undergraduate Writing Requirement (1982-1992)

  • Committee on Family and Work Issues (1988-1989)

  • Freshman Advisor (1988-1989, 1992-1993)

School of Humanities, Arts and Social Science

  • HOC (2005-2008)

  • HOC Plus (2005)

  • HASS-D Committee (1988)

  • Equal Opportunity Committee (1991-1993)

Department of Linguistics and Philosophy,
Linguistics Section

  • Chair, Search Experimental Linguistics (2004)

  • Committee on the development of 24.900 (2002-2009)

  • Tenure Committee for Michel DeGraff, Member (2002-2003)

  • Graduate presentations and job readiness committee, member (2001-present)

Foreign Languages & Literatures Section

  • Lecturers' Development Committee (1992-1996)

  • Pedagogy and Technology Committee Chair (1991-1992)

  • Writing Requirement Coordinator (1988-2000)

  • UROP Coordinator (1986-1996)

  • ESL Coordinator (1981-1996)

  • ESL Concentration Advisor (1982-1995)


Undergraduate Research Opportunities - Student Supervision

I have supervised approximately 150 undergraduate students in UROPs from 1982-present. These include:

  • Claire Foley, Ph.D. Linguistics (Cornell University),

  • Maria Babyonyshev, Ph.D. Linguistics (MIT)

  • Saadia Hussain, MS Computer Science (MIT and Brown University),

  • Edward Munnich (University of Delaware),

  • Susanna Reynolds (PhD Princeton University) among many others who pursued advanced degrees in Linguistics or related areas of research.

Other Graduate Student Research Supervision

  • Tara K. MacAllister, committee member (2005-2008)

  • Cristina Cuervo (MEG: Bilingualsim; 2002-2004)

  • Heejeong Ko (2002-2004)

  • John Kim (BCS; 1987-1989)

  • Susanna Reynolds, Member, MS thesis (BCS; 1999-2001)

  • Donna Lardiere (Boston University) (G) Spring 1989

Thesis Committees

  • Allsion Adler, Chair, PhD committee (2005-2007)

  • Xiaomin Mou, PhD committee member (2004-2010)

  • Tania Ionin, Member, Ph.D committee (BCS) (2002-2004)

  • Member, PhD committee, Shaomin Wang (Course 1; 2003-2004)

  • Chair, Senior Thesis Committee for Wee Teng Hoon, Spring 1987.

  • Chair, MS Thesis Committee for Peter Schindler, Fall, 1987.

  • Member, MA Thesis Committee for Sigal Uziel, Spring, 1991.

  • Chair, Senior Thesis Committee for Edward Munnich, Spring 1991.

  • Chair, Senior Thesis Committee for Cashman Andrus, Spring, 1993.

Outside Thesis Committees

  • Member, PhD committee, Susana Perales Haya, Universidad del Pais Vasco, 2004

  • Chair, PhD committee, Silvana Pacheco, PURS/Porto Alegre, Brazil, 2005-present

  • Member, PhD committee, Sujin Yang (Cornell University) 2005-present

  • Member, PhD Committee, Marcela Schultz, Boston University, 2002-present

  • Member, PhD committee, Luz Vasquez, 2003-2005

  • Chair, PhD committee, Inna Vinnitskaya, UOttawa, 2001-present

  • Member, Ph.D. Thesis Committee for Margaret Thomas, Linguistics Department, Harvard University, Spring 1988.

  • Member, Ph.D. Thesis Committee for Sigal Uziel, Linguistics Department, Bar Ilan University, Israel, 1992.

  • Member, Ph.D. Thesis Committee for Susan Kalt, Linguistics Dept., University of Southern California, 2000.

  • Member, Ph.D. Thesis Committee for Christine Price, Psychology Dept., Lesley College, 2001-2003

Reviewer for

Linguistic Society of America, Northeast Linguistic Society, National Science Foundation, National Endowment for the Humanities, Boston University Language Conference, Canadian Council for Social Science Research, City University of New York, City University at Hong Kong, WCCFL, GASLA, SLRF, Blackwell Publishers, Cambridge University Publishers, Oxford University Press, Longman, MIT Press, WCCFL, Brain and Language, Language Learning, Second Language Research, Cognition, Cognitive Science, Issues in Applied Linguistics, Studies in Second Language Acquisition, Language, Applied Psycholinguistics

Review and Visiting Committees

  • University of Southern Maine, Department of Linguistics (January, 2019)

  • City University of New York, Graduate Center Department of Linguistics (December, 2011)

  • Arizona State University (January, 2006)

  • CUNY system for Community Colleges (Spring, 2003)

  • Visiting Committee member in Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics, Carnegie Mellon University (biannual reviews): 1991-present

  • Evaluation of ESL Program, Department of Linguistics, SUNY, Stony Brook in November 1987

Outside Professional Offices

  • Vice President
    Modern Linguistic Society of Korea (2014-present)

  • Board of Directors
    Lex/Hippo, Research Association, Tokyo, Japan (2008-present)

  • Board of Directors
    Alumni Association, Dept. of Anthropology, UMass/Amherst, MA (2007-2014)

  • Linguistics Section: Nominating Committee
    American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS, 2008-2013)

  • Nominating Committee
    Linguistics Society of America (2008-2013)

  • Member of Nominating Committee
    AAAS (1993-95)

  • Board of Directors
    Belmont Country Day School, Belmont, MA (1999-2005)

  • Linguistics Society of America Program
    Committee Member (1995-1997)
    Program Chair (1997-1998)

  • Board of Directors
    International Institute Foundation, Madrid, Spain (1995-1998)